Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Like Tree18Likes

Thread: Hacksaw Ridge (UHD Blu-ray) review

  1. #1
    Senior Member David Vaughn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern, CA
    Posts
    12,954


    Hacksaw Ridge (UHD Blu-ray) review

    Name:  hacksaw.jpg
Views: 104
Size:  25.9 KB

    Plot
    The extraordinary true story of Desmond Doss (Andrew Garfield) who, in Okinawa during the bloodiest battle of WWII, saved 75 men without firing or carrying a gun. He was the only American soldier in WWII to fight on the front lines without a weapon, as he believed that while the war was justified, killing was nevertheless wrong. As an army medic, he single-handedly evacuated the wounded from behind enemy lines, braved fire while tending to soldiers, was wounded by a grenade, and hit by snipers. Doss was the first conscientious objector to ever earn the Congressional Medal of Honor

    My Thoughts
    Mel’s back and it looks like he’s been forgiven by Hollywood for his past behavior he delivers a winner here. I’m not a huge fan of Garfield, but he shines playing Desmond Doss, the man who volunteered for the Army, yet refused to carry a gun! The first act does a good job setting what transpired to make Doss the man he became, and has a cute love story aspect of how he met his future wife. Once he goes to basic training things really pick up and I was shocked to see Vince Vaughn as the drill sergeant—but he pulls it off brilliantly!

    The third act is horrifying and Gibson does an Oscar-worthy job of showing that war certainly is hell, especially fighting the Japanese in the Pacific. For those out there that are revisionist history people, after watching this—and other WWII films about the Pacific Theater—you’ll see exactly why Truman chose to drop the Atomic bombs on the Japanese mainland. It saved tens of thousands of lives on both sides.

    4K Video 9/10 (HEVC)

    Blu-ray Video (4.5/5)

    Audio 10/10 (Dolby Atmos)


    Special Features:
    · “The Soul of War: Making Hacksaw Ridge
    · Veterans Day Greeting with Mel Gibson
    · Deleted Scenes
    · Blu-ray + UV Digital Copy





    Conclusion
    I’ve seen over half the Best Picture nominees for this year and have found this to be the best film from 2016—and yes, I’ve seen the overhyped, yet enjoyable La La Land. Gibson has woven a fantastic story into a well-paced two hours and fifteen minutes about heroism unlike anything I’ve ever seen. The presentation is absolutely fantastic and definitely put this one on your “must see” list. Highly recommended.
    k0rww, TrippleJ, NoUDont and 2 others like this.
    David Vaughn
    Technical Writer/Blu-ray Reviewer
    Sound and Vision Magazine

  2. #2
    Senior Member TrippleJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    6,076


    Thanks for the review. Will check it out.
    David Vaughn likes this.
    Main:
    Samsung UN75F8000 LED TV, NAD T-777 (7.2 Receiver), Oppo 103 Blu Ray Player, Sony PS4 Gaming Console, Panamax MR-5100 Surge Protection, 7 Paradigm Reference series 8" in ceiling speakers (AMS-150R) - 30 degree tilting speakers, 2 Paradigm SE Subs. Pictures here.

  3. #3
    Senior Member NoUDont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,426


    Should be at the Box next week. Will check it out. Always been a Gibson, the director, fan. Might be a nut job, but i am always entertained by his films.

  4. #4
    Senior Member David Vaughn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern, CA
    Posts
    12,954


    Quote Originally Posted by NoUDont View Post
    Should be at the Box next week. Will check it out. Always been a Gibson, the director, fan. Might be a nut job, but i am always entertained by his films.
    Id rank this one near the top along with Braveheart. Excellent film.
    David Vaughn
    Technical Writer/Blu-ray Reviewer
    Sound and Vision Magazine

  5. #5
    Administrator Tracy Rainwater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    16,609


    I'll give Red Box $2 for this one. It seems like an interesting story and given my grandfather's involvement in WWII, I like most anything involving that period in U.S. history.

    Thanks, David.
    David Vaughn likes this.

  6. #6
    Moderator jerrich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Abq, NM, USA
    Posts
    7,882


    My father in law was a purple heart vet of WWII, so will have to see this one for sure.
    JR
    David Vaughn and Lefisc like this.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Lefisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,795


    "Mel’s back and it looks like he’s been forgiven by Hollywood" If the movie made a lot of money he's forgiven.
    David Vaughn likes this.
    Barry
    Surround Pre-Amp
    : Krell 707 3D; Amp: (center) Krell 400e; Amp Fronts Krell 600e; SACD: Krell Cipher; FM: Day Sequerra FM Reference; Blu-Ray: Oppo BDP 105; Speakers: Revel Ultima Salon 2; Center: Revel Voice 2; Rear/Back: Thiel Powerplanes/Krell S1500 amp; Subs: 2 SVS SB-13 Ultra; Turntable: VPI 19 Mk 4 w/Tonearm SME 309 & Audioquest 401i; HDTV: Verizon; Projector: JVC DLA-RS66U; Screen: Vue Tech 108; Internet Radio: Sonos; Remote: MX850; Pioneer Elite LDS-2 Laser Disc

  8. #8
    Administrator Tracy Rainwater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    16,609


    Quote Originally Posted by Lefisc View Post
    "Mel’s back and it looks like he’s been forgiven by Hollywood" If the movie made a lot of money he's forgiven.
    You just can't keep a crazy man down. Crazy doesn't care that it's crazy.
    David Vaughn likes this.

  9. #9
    Administrator Tracy Rainwater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    16,609


    Quote Originally Posted by Lefisc View Post
    "Mel’s back and it looks like he’s been forgiven by Hollywood" If the movie made a lot of money he's forgiven.
    You just can't keep a crazy man down. Crazy doesn't care that it's crazy.
    David Vaughn likes this.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Brandon Eberhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    664


    I was not expecting to like this, but I did. Garfield was really winning and the been-done-to-death setup with the small town kid finding his sweetheart was actually, well, sweet, and well done, not sappy. Boot camp was interesting if too drawn out. Real story or not, it makes no sense that he wouldn't even *touch* a gun, almost to the point of him getting kicked out of the army and not being able to save anyone. Nobody tells him to shoot someone, just do target practice while in boot. He could have saved a lot of time by just waiting until he was on the battlefield and not preaching his beliefs along the way. But...

    Wow, the 2nd half was impressive. The violence was actually less gruesome than I expected given the setting but still made a big impact. This is one of those "true" stories I fully expected to be 99% made up Hollywood storytelling. If anything, Mel should have cut 1/2 the scenes of him saving all the wounded, at some point it seemed impossible to believe. I think it was 77 men he saved!?!? Alone?!?! On an active (if decimated) battlefield, at night, next to a cliff, and using a MacGuyver'd harness (I just *knew* that weird knot he tied in boot was going to come back later, one of the few cheesy Hollywood moments in the movie) to lower soldiers to safety. Unreal.

    The final scenes with the real Desmond Doss and the actual facts were hard to believe. But even as an old guy you get the sense that he just did what he did because that's who he was and didn't know what else he coulda or woulda done. Amazing story.

    As for Mel, I rarely care about people's scandals when it comes to appreciating their art, and his case was no different. I am just happy he made a good, old-fashioned war film as we haven't had one in a bit. The fact that it was a war film about *not* killing was a nice way to make it stand out.

    Vince Vaughn was pretty good, too, though the Full Metal Jacket comparison is inevitable and R. Lee Ermey will likely never be topped in the "badass drill instructor" dept.
    David Vaughn likes this.
    Follow me on twitter and get free tales of horror, comedy and everything in between.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Luxury Publishing Group Inc.
15332 Antioch Street | Pacific Palisades, CA 90272 | 310.860.9988
©2011 Luxury Publishing Group. All Rights Reserved
For our Privacy Poliicy, ad specs and contact
info please click here