Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Like Tree16Likes

Thread: Underworld: Blood Wars (UHD Blu-ray) review

  1. #1
    Senior Member David Vaughn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern, CA
    Posts
    12,915


    Underworld: Blood Wars (UHD Blu-ray) review

    Name:  underworld.jpg
Views: 59
Size:  32.7 KB

    Plot
    In the next installment of the blockbuster franchise, UNDERWORLD: BLOOD WARS follows Vampire death dealer, Selene (Kate Beckinsale) as she fends off brutal attacks from both the Lycan clan and the Vampire faction that betrayed her. With her only allies, David (Theo James) and his father Thomas (Charles Dance), she must stop the eternal war between Lycans and Vampires, even if it means she has to make the ultimate sacrifice.

    My Thoughts
    I really like the first Underworld movie and each subsequent sequel has been a letdown. Thatís pretty much the case here as well, but at least itís an improvement on the last film. Since it was being released in UHD, I couldnít resist requesting it for a couple of reasons. First, 4K and HDR. Second, Dolby Atmos. Third, and maybe most important, Kate Beckinsale in black leather! Needless to say, that young lady has aged well and definitely hits the gym.

    Like most sequels, the plot isnít very deep or thought provoking and thereís enough blood and violence to keep fans of the genre happy. The video presentation is good, not great, but does offer a slight improvement over the Blu-ray, although itís very dark and will test the gamma capabilities of your display. The Dolby Atmos audio track is fantastic and was mixed for home video by Marc Fleishman, aka Filmmixer over at AVS.


    4K UHD
    Video 8/10 (HEVC)
    Audio 10/10 (Dolby Atmos)

    Blu-ray
    Video 4/5 (AVC)
    Audio 4.5/5 (DTS-HD MA 5.1)

    Special Features
    ∑ The Evolution of Selene
    ∑ Old and New Blood
    ∑ The Evil Evolved
    ∑ Building a Blood War
    ∑ Underworld: Blood Wars Graphic Novel
    ∑ Previews
    ∑ UHD, + UV Digital Copy




    Conclusion
    This is definitely a film made for fans of the franchise and checks off most of the boxes for a successful sequel, but itís not as fun or exciting as the original. The 4K presentation is good, but itís the Dolby Atmos track thatís the star of the showówell, that and Kate! Recommended for fans.
    David Vaughn
    Technical Writer/Blu-ray Reviewer
    Sound and Vision Magazine

  2. #2
    Administrator Tracy Rainwater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    16,531


    Third, and maybe most important, Kate Beckinsale in black leather! Needless to say, that young lady has aged well and definitely hits the gym.
    I too am a fan of the first film and felt a bit let down by the later films. However, you mentioned a great excuse for me to give Redbox $2.

    Thanks for the review.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Brandon Eberhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    642


    Same as you guys I liked the first one, even if it was a bit silly. (Werewolves running on walls looked... odd and impossible for one.) The sequels got less and less entertaining, as you say.

    I started watching this on BD but after ten minutes or so shut it off. Maybe I'll come back to it, not sure. It was SO dark and looked pretty cheap as well.

    But yeah, Kate Beckinsale is gorgeous. Google tell me she's 43 and boy, she does not look it. Recent photo:
    TrippleJ and Tracy Rainwater like this.
    Follow me on twitter and get free tales of horror, comedy and everything in between.

  4. #4
    Administrator Tracy Rainwater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    16,531


    Yes, the running on walls thing was a bit of a stretch. The rest of the film is totally legit.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Lefisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,746


    I love this. Werewolves do not seem impossible, but running on walls do.
    Barry
    Surround Pre-Amp
    : Krell 707 3D; Amp: (center) Krell 400e; Amp Fronts Krell 600e; SACD: Krell Cipher; FM: Day Sequerra FM Reference; Blu-Ray: Oppo BDP 105; Speakers: Revel Ultima Salon 2; Center: Revel Voice 2; Rear/Back: Thiel Powerplanes/Krell S1500 amp; Subs: 2 SVS SB-13 Ultra; Turntable: VPI 19 Mk 4 w/Tonearm SME 309 & Audioquest 401i; HDTV: Verizon; Projector: JVC DLA-RS66U; Screen: Vue Tech 108; Internet Radio: Sonos; Remote: MX850; Pioneer Elite LDS-2 Laser Disc

  6. #6
    Senior Member Brandon Eberhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    642


    Well, yeah, actually. Just the physics of it don't make sense. 1/2 inch drywall couldn't support a 500lb man-wolf. And even if it could, they wouldn't run along it perfectly horizontally, no signs of gravity pulling their frame closer to the floor than it is to the ceiling.

    Werewolves, on the other hand, are scientifically proven by mythology.

    I mean, come on Barry, try to be a little more logical here.
    David Vaughn likes this.
    Follow me on twitter and get free tales of horror, comedy and everything in between.

  7. #7
    Administrator Tracy Rainwater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    16,531


    Brandon, it's CLEARLY not simple drywall. Look at how it crumbles, it plaster and that stuff is tougher.
    David Vaughn likes this.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Ralph P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    143


    Greetings,

    I am with you Dave. Really enjoy the first film, and can even tolerate the 4th, but this was just a bit too thin on story. Definitely typical genre fare, and Kate's presence is always welcomed, which softens the blow.

    Regards,
    David Vaughn likes this.
    Regards,


    Ralph C.Potts
    AVSForum Blu-ray Disc Reviews

  9. #9
    Senior Member Brandon Eberhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    642


    I hate to say it, since we're a basically joking here, but... you're right. And being that it's a hallway in an old building (hotel?) that makes sense. I'm going by memory but since all these things are set in a neo-gothic world with old buildings, then it probably IS plaster. And, yup, that is stronger.

    BUT STILL-

    NO sign of being pulled downward?? Even if they were on tracks, there'd be some sign of gravity at play. Looks like they had the on-set werewolves run on the ground towards the camera, then flipped the image 90 degrees. Can't blame them as I'm sure it's hard to wrangle werewolves and of course, they can only be on set one night a month so you gotta make the most of it...
    Last edited by Brandon Eberhart; 04-17-2017 at 12:56 AM.
    Follow me on twitter and get free tales of horror, comedy and everything in between.

  10. #10
    Senior Member David Vaughn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern, CA
    Posts
    12,915


    While we're on the subject, how does Spiderman stick to walls if he's wearing gloves??? Just sayin'.
    David Vaughn
    Technical Writer/Blu-ray Reviewer
    Sound and Vision Magazine

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Luxury Publishing Group Inc.
15332 Antioch Street | Pacific Palisades, CA 90272 | 310.860.9988
©2011 Luxury Publishing Group. All Rights Reserved
For our Privacy Poliicy, ad specs and contact
info please click here