GoldenEar HTR 7000s are on the Way

Name:  HTR 7000.jpg
Views: 570
Size:  10.3 KB

I've been itching to make some changes to my home theater for quite some time. While a projector remains a top priority, I also need to free up some floor space and thought about adding some in-ceiling speakers.

Right now, I am using a pair of DCM Time Window Seven towers, super hard to find, as my main left and right channel and a CX-17 center that has been modified to match the timber of the Sevens. I am running a pair of DCM Time Window Three, also towers, as my surrounds.

Here's a simple drawing of my theater. Needless to say it's a tight fit, especially in the rear of the theater.

Name:  Rainwater Theater.jpg
Views: 597
Size:  74.8 KB

My first step is to box up the Threes in the rear and add in-ceiling speakers. I have no first-hand experience when it comes to in-ceiling speakers. Top brands that come to mind are Episode which are from Snap AV, GoldenEar Technology, and Noble Fidelity.

Ultimately, I decided on the GoldenEar HTR 7000s. I remember hearing the Triton 2 towers at CEDIA and fell in love with how well they imaged and how open they were. It wasn't like listening to speakers playing music, as much as it was an incredibly deep, wide, engaging sound field. This was easily one of the top demos for me at the trade show.

So...........after emailing GoldenEar Technology with some basic questions, I get a phone call from the company president Sandy Gross. WOW, what a surprise. After a lengthy phone call, I decided to order a pair of HTR 7000 in-ceiling speakers.

Here are the specs:
    • One - 7˝ High-Def. Cast-Basket MVPP™ Mid/Bass Driver
    • One - HVFR™ High-Velocity Folded Ribbon Tweeter
    • 25 Hz - 35 kHz
    • 90 db Effeciancy
    • Power Rating 10 - 250 watts
    • 9 inch diameter package