Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Anyone Ever DIY a Home Theater or Audio Project?

I'm itching to get a DIY project started. Where's Heathkit when you need them?

So.....I thought about incorporating my DIY project with my renewed interest in two-channel audio. That being said, I thought about giving a simple build DIY amp a shot. No, I am not an electrical engineer but I know the names of a few legendary amp designers.

Nelson Pass of Pass Labs makes some of the finest performing amplifiers on the market. Luckily, he appears to be the kind of person who gives back to the audio hobby. In addition to all his high-end business ventures, he also designs amplifiers, posts those designs and parts lists for anyone who is willing to plug in a soldering iron and get their hands dirty.

As part of Pass' Amp Camp, which is a get together for Audio DIY enthusiasts to build one of his custom designed amps to take home, comes a Class A dual mono amplifier kit.

Name:  Pass AC Amp.JPG
Views: 235
Size:  40.2 KB

This kit ($149) comes complete with all the parts needed to build two identical Class A amplifiers. You can get the custom designed circuit board and all the needed parts as one option. The option that appeals to me, is the kit along with the complete custom designed case and heatsinks ($269).

This is an extremely simple design that is completely Class A. The only potential downside is that the amps are only 5 watts, but as Pass says, "but they're very good watts" and "The first watt is the most important watt", which is the motto of his custom audio company First Watt.

More details can be found Amp Camp Amp Kit – diyAudio Store

So, are you into DIY AV, do you have a project in progress, or have you completed a DIY AV project? Post them here.

AK4490EQ based DAC kit, with Burson .V5 OpAmps!!!! However the .v5 doesn't allow me to put my cover on my DAC, they're too tall! It's sounds pretty good though!