Results 1 to 10 of 10
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By David Vaughn

Thread: Flight (Blu-ray) review

  1. #1
    Senior Member David Vaughn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern, CA
    Posts
    10,722


    Flight (Blu-ray) review

    Name:  Flight.jpg
Views: 105
Size:  23.0 KB

    Plot
    Airline pilot Whip Whitaker (Denzel Washington) miraculously lands his plane after a mid-air catastrophe. But even as he's being hailed fir his heroic efforts, questions arise as to who or what was really at fault.

    My thoughts:
    The movie starts in a rather crude way with Whitaker waking up in a hotel room with a naked lady, who happens to be one of his flight attendants, and he proceeds to snort down a few lines of coke before making his way to the airport to fly to Atlanta—makes your really confident to step onto an airline! The next scene introduces us to Nicole, a heroin addict in the Atlanta area who's looking for her next fix and finds it from an acquaintance that's shooting a porno. Needless to say, I wasn't too impressed with the beginning.

    Fortunately I stuck with it though because once the plane takes off, the movie gets good—really good. The plane crash scene is one of the most intense I've ever experienced and director Robert Zemeckis should be commended on ratcheting-up the tension knob. After the crash, Whitaker's life begins to unravel as the NTSB discovers there were drugs in his blood, but despite his level of intoxication, he insists he is the only person in the world who could have landed that plane. Fortunately he has some friends on his side, including Nicole, who he meets while recovering in the hospital.

    Video 5/5
    Well, Flight goes to the top of 2013 Blu-ray releases with its visually perfect 1080p image. In fact, this one ranks near the top of all time—yes folks, it's that good. Detail bursts off the screen with revealing facial textures, stitches in clothing, and the intricate tattoos on Nicole's fingers. The color palette is extremely lifelike, black levels deep, and there are no complaints what-so-ever with the video encode.

    Audio 5/5
    While the majority of the movie is dialog driven, the crash sequence is the most demo-worthy moments I've viewed in months. The jet engines from the plane fill the room and when the scene shifts to the hectic cockpit, it's like you're sitting in there with our flawed hero and his crew as they do everything they can to save the aircraft and the 100+ souls onboard.

    Special Features:

    • Origins of Flight
    • The Making of Flight
    • Anatomy of a Plane Crash
    • Q&A Highlights
    • DVD & Digital Copy


    Conclusion

    While the movie doesn't start out on a good note, it ends up being a very satisfying experience. It's scary to see the demons that Whitaker is fighting and Washington does his usual bang-up job at convincing the audience that what we are witnessing is true to life. Be sure to check this one out, it's definitely worth the time and if you're looking for a new demo scene to show off your home theater, the crash sequence is definitely a crowd pleaser. Recommended.
    Last edited by David Vaughn; 02-04-2013 at 01:36 PM.
    BassEarDrum likes this.
    David Vaughn
    Technical Writer/Blu-ray Reviewer
    Sound and Vision Magazine

  2. #2
    Senior Member TrippleJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,124


    Good review. Will have to catch it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member NoUDont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,078


    This one is on its way from BB Online. Looking forward to it.

    Thanks Dave.

  4. #4
    Senior Member NoUDont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,078


    What this movie made me think after it was over is "wth has robert zemeckis been doing for the last 10 years!". great movie. ugly, offensive and tough to watch at times but well worth it.

    robert z, please stop putzing around with cartoons and follow flight up with something that deserves your skills, please.

    great sound and video. i know video and audio are good now when neither distracts me and makes me think "that doesnt seem right". that didnt happen once during flight.

  5. #5
    Senior Member k0rww's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    St. Louis Area
    Posts
    3,158


    Hi Favid,

    I bought the movie after your review and watched it last week. I enjoyed the movie but it may be hard to watch his fight with alcohol a second time. The crash scene won't be a problem. I've flown a million miles and wonder whether I've had a pilot anywhere close to this one.
    Richard

  6. #6
    Senior Member David Vaughn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern, CA
    Posts
    10,722


    Richard,

    I had to fly to Chicago the day after watching this movie and for the first time in a long time, I was nervous about the flight!
    David Vaughn
    Technical Writer/Blu-ray Reviewer
    Sound and Vision Magazine

  7. #7
    Senior Member k0rww's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    St. Louis Area
    Posts
    3,158


    Quote Originally Posted by David Vaughn View Post
    Richard,

    I had to fly to Chicago the day after watching this movie and for the first time in a long time, I was nervous about the flight!
    If you had a flight like the movie just think of the stories you could tell your grandkids.
    Richard

  8. #8
    Senior Member David Vaughn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern, CA
    Posts
    10,722


    I prefer to not have stories like that to tell
    David Vaughn
    Technical Writer/Blu-ray Reviewer
    Sound and Vision Magazine

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    8


    I'm hoping to pick this one up soon. I really like Denzel Washington as an actor, but have been disappointed by his choices of movies lately. I've recently purchased Safe House, and in fact may watch that tomorrow night - I hope that it's a little higher quality than Unstoppable, Eli, or Pelham 1,2,3.
    speed//

    JVC DLA-RS2 projector
    Grandview Cyber Series 120" Motorized Screen
    Samsung BD-C6500 Blu-ray player
    Denon AVR-3310ci A/V receiver
    Adcom GFA-555mkI, GFA-545mkII amplifiers
    Yamaha CD-675 CD player
    Energy RC-70 mains / RC-LCR centre / RC-R surrounds
    PSB Subsonic 6i

  10. #10
    Senior Member TrippleJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,124


    I saw this last night from amazon prime.. The crash scene was intense. Wow. I felt it.

    As for that first scene with the naked lady. I like..

    Good thing I was the only one to watch this movie. hee hee..

    Anyways, I enjoyed it. Thanks for the review.

    P.S. That lady is hot!

    Name:  flight.jpg
Views: 10
Size:  33.6 KB
    Last edited by TrippleJ; 03-29-2014 at 07:19 PM.
    Main:
    Samsung UN75F8000 LED TV, NAD T-777 (7.2 Receiver), Oppo 103 Blu Ray Player, Sony PS4 Gaming Console, Panamax MR-5100 Surge Protection, 7 Paradigm Reference series 8" in ceiling speakers (AMS-150R) - 30 degree tilting speakers, 2 Paradigm SE Subs

    Extra Room:
    Sony VCR/DVD Recorder RDR-VXD655, Mitsubishi Projection TV WS-55908

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Luxury Publishing Group Inc.
12400 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 1140 | Los Angeles, CA 90025 | 310.860.9988
©2011 Luxury Publishing Group. All Rights Reserved
For our Privacy Poliicy, ad specs and contact
info please click here